The Perks of Being a Wallflower: Staying true to the book?

Liz Cush of Night Sky Reviews, gives Film Jam a piece of her mind on what she thinks of The Perks of Being a Wallflower trailer in comparison with the book.

I never even heard of this book until the hype began about it being made into a movie. Honestly, I went out and bought it because I heard that Emma Watson and Logan Lerman were being cast as the leading roles and I’m a huge fan of them so I didn’t really know what to expect when I first opened the book. But I’m so glad I read it! The story is told in letters to an anonymous person from Charlie’s point of view. He basically is telling this person all about his life, from everything that’s going on in school to these incredible new friends he has made who actually accept him for him. It’s an intense, heart-felt story about love, friendship and adventure.

I wasn’t even sure if I was going to like the story before I read it but I really, really enjoyed it. I was sucked into the book from the first few pages so I was very excited to hear that a brand new trailer for Perks was being released (finally). From the looks of the trailer, it seems that they’re going to be sticking to the book a lot, I seen a few things that I remember from when I read it. I think Emma Watson, Logan Lerman and Ezra Miller were cast perfectly! Logan was definitely pulling off the “anti-social awkward teenager” part well. The only thing I disliked about the trailer was that they changed the main quote from the book a little bit. “And in this moment, I swear we are infinite”. There’s not too much difference but it still bothered me. Overall though, I think this is going to be a fantastic movie and I’m very excited to see it

Give us your thoughts and words

